Paradise Hot Springs: Passes, Pools and Honest Advice for La Fortuna
Paradise Hot Springs sits about 8 minutes northwest of La Fortuna and sells four types of day pass, from a basic $47 soak to a $170 spa package. This page explains what the venue really is, because the name suggests something it is not. The pools here are constructed pools filled with geothermally heated water, not a natural flowing river like the one at Tabacón or the free hot river near El Choyín. That is not a flaw, but it changes what you should expect. Below you will find the pass types, the adults-only Cedro area, the hours, the deposits at the towel desk, the restaurant and how to get there, with the full comparison of La Fortuna hot springs in Costa Rica if you want to weigh it against the other venues first.
Quick answer Paradise at a glance
Paradise Hot Springs is a constructed-pool thermal resort about 8 minutes from La Fortuna, and the bookable day ticket costs $47 per adult.
Key takeaways
- Four pass types exist: Classic at $47, a with-meal version at $81, a Wellness pass at $114 and a Premium spa pass at $170. See the pass table below.
- The bookable ticket is the Classic pass. Compare it on the Paradise Hot Springs ticket page.
- The Cedro infinity pool area with volcano views is adults-only and comes only with the Wellness pass.
- It is the quiet pick among La Fortuna Costa Rica hot springs. If you want waterslides or a natural river, look at Baldi hot springs or the free hot springs in La Fortuna.
What Paradise Hot Springs Really Is
Before booking, know what kind of hot spring you are paying for.
Constructed Pools, Not a Flowing River
Every hot spring around Arenal draws its heat from the same underground source, the geothermal system tied to the Arenal volcano. The difference between venues is what they do with that water. Tabacón channels a living river through its grounds and El Choyín leaves a stretch of warm river free to the public. Paradise Hot Springs pumps geothermally heated water into built pools and jacuzzis. The reported water temperature runs 95-104°F, a figure from blog reporting rather than the venue's own published list, so treat it as a guide and not an official spec.
The practical effect is a controlled, predictable soak. Steps, railings and flat pool floors instead of river rocks and current. If you have small children or anyone unsteady on their feet, that matters more than the romance of a natural river.
Why It Feels Quieter Than the Big Venues
The venue caps its visitor numbers rather than selling unlimited tickets, and reviewers repeatedly describe the pools as uncrowded compared with the water-park-style resorts. Baldi claims 25 thermal pools and Kalambu runs full waterslides, and both draw the family crowd that comes with them. Paradise positions itself on the other side of that split: loungers, a swim-up bar, a spa, and no slides anywhere.
If your mental picture of a hot springs day involves a lazy river and a kids' splash zone, the Kalambu hot springs page describes that product instead. If you want an adults-paced soak with food a short walk away, this is closer to the mark.
Sources: Tabacón hot springs, Baldi Hot Springs day pass and Arenal Volcano on Wikipedia.
The Four Day Passes and What Each Leaves Out
Paradise names its passes Classic, With Meal, Premium and Wellness, and the gaps between them are wide.
Comparing the Passes
The table below lines up the four pass types as the venue names them on its own day-pass page, with adult and child rates and the price stated as valid through December 15, 2026. Note that only the Classic pass is the bookable ticket sold through the platform listing, so if you plan to book online, compare it on the Paradise Hot Springs ticket page rather than treating the venue rates as the online price.
| Pass | Adult price | Child price | Ages for child rate | Booking |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Classic | $47 | $33 | 3-11 years | Bookable online |
| With Meal | $81 | $52 | 3-11 years | not stated |
| Wellness | $114 | not stated | Adults only | not stated |
| Premium | $170 | not stated | Adults only | 12 hours in advance for the treatment |
What the Cheaper Passes Leave Out
The Classic pass covers pool and jacuzzi access and nothing else. The ticket alone does not include food, and at $47 with meals at Azalia Restaurant sold separately, a soak plus lunch costs meaningfully more than the headline. The with-meal pass at $81 bundles the meal. The two top passes are adults-only, which is the real reason to buy them if you are traveling without children or want the Cedro area.
The Premium pass includes a spa treatment from a fixed menu: a 60-minute Swedish massage, a 60-minute volcanic mud and thermal-water wrap, or a 60-minute antioxidant facial. Any of these needs at least 12 hours of advance booking, so you cannot decide on arrival.
Paradise Hot Springs on Video
A walk through the Paradise pools and grounds. Third-party video by Need 2 Boston. We did not shoot it and have no relationship with the creator.
The Cedro Adults-Only Area
Cedro is the zone that separates Paradise from the family venues, and it is gated behind one specific pass.
What You Get and What It Costs
Cedro is the adults-only zone with a rooftop infinity pool, volcano views and a coffee bar. It comes only with the Wellness pass at $114, so a couple buying the cheapest tickets cannot pay extra on arrival to reach it. Two things follow from that. First, book the Wellness pass from the start if the adults-only pool is the reason you picked this venue. Second, keep expectations about the view honest: Arenal sits in cloud for long stretches, and no venue can promise the volcano will show itself while you are in the water.
Elsewhere on the property, reviews name two other pools, the Pangea Pool and the Palma Real Pool, which come with any pass. The venue does not publish a total pool count, so if someone asks how many pools Paradise has, the honest answer is that the number is not stated on its own page.
Arenal Volcano seen from Kioro. Photo: Manuel Velazquez, CC BY 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Hours, Deposits and the Storm Rule
The small print at the towel desk and the one closure rule that surprises visitors.
Opening Hours and the Lightning Closure
The pools and jacuzzis run from 11:00 AM to 9:00 PM. The resort is open year-round with one stated exception: it closes during electrical storms and reopens once the lightning risk passes. This is the same lightning-only rule Tabacón uses, and it is worth taking seriously in the rainy season, which runs May through November with the heaviest rain from June through October. A gray afternoon does not close the park, but a thunderstorm will pause it, so build slack into your plans rather than arriving at 8:00 PM expecting a full three hours.
Two deposits apply at the desk: $10 per towel and $5 per locker. Bring cash or a card you are happy to leave held against, and return the towel and key to get the deposit back before you leave.
Food, Spa and the On-Site Restaurant
Azalia Restaurant is the property's own kitchen, with two fixed service windows.
Azalia Restaurant Hours
Azalia Restaurant serves lunch from 12:30 PM to 3:30 PM and dinner from 5:30 PM to 8:30 PM. If you buy the Classic pass and plan to eat on-site, your meal sits outside the ticket, so budget for it separately. The dinner window closes two and a half hours before the pools do, which fits an afternoon arrival better than an early evening one.
The spa menu is where the Premium pass earns its $170 price: the Swedish massage, the volcanic mud and thermal-water wrap and the antioxidant facial are each 60 minutes, and all require the 12-hour advance booking already mentioned. For context on what else that money buys, the Tabacón day pass costs $180 and gets you a natural spring-fed river system, so at the top end you are choosing between a spa day and a river day rather than two versions of the same thing.
Getting There and the Hotel
The address, the drive and the overnight option.
Location and Drive Time
The official site gives the address as 4.8 km northwest of La Fortuna Park, and the reported drive time from town is about 8 minutes. The venue does not publish a parking price, so the cost of parking is not stated. No shuttle is included with the bookable ticket either, which means you need your own transport or a taxi. If you would rather not drive at all, some combined tours bundle a soak into a day out, like the waterfall, volcano and hot springs tour at $95 with pickup from La Fortuna accommodations, though that one visits a natural hot spring resort rather than Paradise itself.
Paradise also operates as a hotel, so you can stay overnight and treat the pools as a guest amenity instead of buying a day pass. The venue's own room rates are not published in the sources used here, so the hotel price is not stated.
Is Paradise Hot Springs Right for You?
A quick route through the choice, based on who you are traveling with and what you want from the water.
If You want a quiet, adults-paced soak with no waterslides and no crowds
Paradise fits. The visitor cap keeps the pools calm, and the bookable $47 ticket is the cheapest adult entry among the mid-range resorts.
If You are traveling with children aged 3-11
The Classic pass at $47 or the With Meal pass at $81 admit them at $33 and $52. If slides and splash zones are the goal, Baldi hot springs is the better family product.
If You want a natural flowing river under your feet
Pick a different spring. The Tabacón day pass covers a spring-fed river network, or the free hot springs in La Fortuna at El Choyín cost nothing, with real trade-offs on safety and crowds.
If You are on a tight budget
Look down the price ladder first. Small local pools run from about $10 to $12 for the day, and cheap hot springs in La Fortuna lists them. Paradise starts at $47.
Paradise Hot Springs: Frequently Asked Questions
How much does Paradise Hot Springs cost?
The bookable day ticket costs $47 per adult and covers pool and jacuzzi access from 11:00 AM to 9:00 PM, with food sold separately. Details and booking are on the Paradise Hot Springs ticket page.
How many pools does Paradise Hot Springs have?
The venue does not publish a total pool count on its own site. Reviews name the Pangea Pool and the Palma Real Pool, plus the rooftop infinity pool in the adults-only Cedro area. For venues that do publish full pool lists, see the comparison of La Fortuna Costa Rica hot springs.
Is Paradise Hot Springs natural or man-made?
The water is geothermally heated by the Arenal volcano system, but it is pumped into constructed pools rather than flowing as a natural river. The difference between river-fed and pool-fed venues is explained in the guide to La Fortuna hot springs in Costa Rica.
Can children visit Paradise Hot Springs?
Yes, with limits. The Classic and With Meal passes admit children ages 3-11 at $33 and $52, while the Premium and Wellness passes are adults-only. If slides and play areas matter, Baldi hot springs caters to families more directly.
What are the hours and deposits at Paradise Hot Springs?
Hours are 11:00 AM to 9:00 PM, with closure during electrical storms until lightning risk passes. Towels require a $10 deposit and lockers a $5 deposit, refunded on return.
How far is Paradise Hot Springs from La Fortuna?
The address is 4.8 km northwest of La Fortuna Park and the reported drive is about 8 minutes. No transport is included with the day ticket, so plan a taxi or rental. Travelers without a car sometimes prefer a tour like the waterfall, volcano and hot springs tour, which includes pickup.
Are hot springs worth it in Costa Rica?
For most visitors, yes, but pick the product that matches the day you want. A river soak at Hot Springs Pura Vida costs $29, a quiet pool day at Paradise runs $47, and a full resort river experience at Tabacón reaches $180. Compare the whole day, not just the entry price, using our La Fortuna hot springs in Costa Rica overview.